top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Final Evaluation (Project 2)

Updated: Feb 3, 2020


For this term the product I created was called 'Kalopsia' Kalopsia is a hologram and an app aimed to medically help people with mental illnesses or loneliness such as a widow or an old person were you can create your own person and chose how it looks, what it wears and its personality traits. TO do this, you create the features on the Kalopsia app and then it is projected on a podium as a hologram. The hologram is life sized and can talk to you, spend time with you etc. Kalopsia costs £1000


since starting my new project at UCA, The creating a product project, I have developed more skills than I knew before, especially in the Video editing aspect and the 3D design aspect. This, for me was extremely beneficial as I was struggling prior with which category I wanted to pursue in the future, my options being 3d Design (gaming), and video/video editing.


My main focus this past term has been not only my development within my skills, but also how I work in a team, as a big part of the project was to work as a team to create a product together. This project has helped me to work on my team work skills and also how I present my Ideas to others, As I had to do this many times in different atmospheres. To overcome my struggles with clashing Ideas within my group, I learned how to compromise more, and how to combine ideas together to create an even better product. Before having to do this project I struggled with this, but the project has helped me to work with other people in a work environment effectively which a skill I am glad to have adopted as it will be very useful in the future.


As well as this, I have also learned a lot of contextual knowledge that I feel that I can use and incorporate in my future projects. I have learned what UI and UX is as well as the features of each and also the similarities and differences. I can use this if I do decide to look more into gaming design which may still be a possibility in the future.

As well as this, I obtained knowledge about problems within Japan to do with loneliness due to what my product, Kalopsia, was about. This has given me motivation to look more into the culture and art in Japan due to what I have discovered about the different methods Japan used to fulfil loneliness through games and art which extremely interested me and also reminded me of why I used to like anime so much, making me look back into the art style.

On top of all of this, I learned more regarding the technical side of 3D modelling, such as the technical drawings.



As well as my contextual knowledge, I have been able to develop my knowledge on other digital artists/developers who inspired the project of 'Kalopsia', especially within the Japanese culture. This knowledge was obtained through research on products like 'Kalopsia' who would be competitors to take what other products offer and make them better for Kalopsia. An example of a product that was researched was 'Gatebox' made by the Japanese company called 'vinclu', which is a holographic companion for males who seek a virtual partner. what made Kalopsia better than Gatebox is he feature of being able to chose and design your own hologram with Kalopsia, where as with Gatebox you have a default anime character who is not life sized. What draw my attention to Gatebox was how fascinating it Is that being lonely is such an issue in Japan that they felt the need to create devices like this.

As well as this, I learned a lot about the growth on dating apps online such as the origins of dating apps and how Youtube was originally a dating app before it became what it is known for today, the same as Facebook.


Our group has been able to document our progress and work through mind maps that we composed together and then presented on our own space in the classroom on the wall. Even though there were struggles in my group regarding personality classing and idea clashing we still managed to work as a team and put together a thoroughly thought out plan which we were able to present through a presentation at the end of the project. This helped to show how we managed to pull everything together and I was very impressed and proud of myself and my group for what we had achieved in such little time and with the conflict we encountered. This helped me extremely to think about working with people in a different light as I realised what great things you can accomplish when working with people with different ideas and skills as I realised I would not have been able to produce a product. to such a high standard as we did on my own, and as well as this I learned many new skills from my team mates such as different photoshop skills and marketing skills, and for hat I am extremely grateful.



In my last evaluation I stated that I wanted to learn the basic skills for photoshop and I am extremely pleased because now, after completing my second term, I feel much more confident using photoshop due to playing around with it this term for my project. I played around with photoshopping peoples faces together and also making objects and cutting objects up to layer them and measure them out to be the same. Now that I have completed this task, I am going to set myself a new one. My next aim is to develop new basic skills on animation and how it works.


Overall, I have found this project very challenging, but I am pleased with the outcome, especially with the development within my view editing skills and my photoshop skills. I feel much more confident using my skills to fit a certain product and theme and also how to work in a professional manner creatively to create a product, such as technical drawings and planning out each part in depth. Even though I had issues I have been able to overcome them and I feel much more confident presenting my ideas to an audience and also thinking deeply into how things work and how to create products, as well as how to present something.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page