top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

FMP - Photography Evaluation

Updated: May 21, 2021

Overall, I am extremely pleased with the outcome of the photography that I have taken for my final project, though, there have been challenges that I have faced in the process.


Through this experience I have learned a lot to do with the technical side of photography, for example thinking about positioning of subjects in my photos and different lighting etc, but I have also learned about the ethical side of photography such as asking permission to take photographs of people and permission in using the photos I take. I found this to be challenging at times as I was not able to ask every single person who was in the photos for permission as there were many different people. To overcome this issue, I have made sure to ask the main subjects of photos (for example the photo of the two people kissing) if they are fine with me using them In my photography. I also asked permission from the people who ran the events on instagram.


Regarding taking the photos themselves, I have learned that taking photographs on a film camera is much more challenging than taking photos with a phone for many different reasons. For one, obviously you cannot see the photos you are taking when on a film camera, which proved to be difficult as I was not able to see if my photos were turning out good, I couldn't work out lighting and there are a limited amount of photos I can take. As well as this, I found that people were more hesitant to be in the film photos compared to photos taken on a phone due to the flash and being in front of a camera, therefore, the photos that I got on my phone were a lot better.



I have learned that I am able to create the film look I want in my imagery without a film camera though, which is useful for future knowledge as well as it means I do not always have to use a film camera.


Other challenges that I faced whilst producing my photography is the fact that We are in a global pandemic, making it harder for me to get imagery as things have been closed. I ended up attending raves that were not particularly legal to get the shots I needed, which had its challenges as obviously it was unethical, though was worth it. I had to deal with police due to my action though which was not expected. Luckily, I had already got photos before the raves got shut down but it was still disappointing as I did not have as long to get good photography making my time limited.



Even though that I faced all these issues that I had to overcome for my project, I still feel that I was able to do so and tackled these issues well. I am extremely pleased with the work I have produced and I feel that I have created a strong case study clearly presenting the rave culture that exists in the 21st century. Moving forward, I am going to try and send my photography into magazines to get my photos out there, as I feel they really do give a good insight.




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page