top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Final Evaluation (Project 1)

Updated: Feb 3, 2020


An extension from my midpoint evaluation






Since starting UCA at the start of September, I have developed a lot of skills that I hope to build upon. My main focus these past weeks have been my development within video editing as this is something I enjoy to a huge extent and I feel that since my starting point on premier pro, which was very minimal skills, I have excelled hugely to create my own videos with much better editing I thought I could achieve this early into the course. This was due to Rob, my tutor, showing me how to do certain elements as well as researching myself into how to do different effects on platforms such as you tube and using what I have learned to practice. As well as developing video editing skills, I have also developed Photography skills such as how to take photos with different lighting and different shutter speeds to create different effects and atmospheres when taking a photo. Before coming to UCA I did not know how to use different settings on a camera and therefore am pleased that I can now do this.


Although, not only have I achieved knowledge in practical skills, such as photography and filming, I have also achieved more contextual knowledge on elements such as Margate, The circus, Perspective and Methods of printing. Through research I learned about how Dreamland in Margate was used as a base camp for soldiers in World War Two, restricting the leisure that was there prior to the war, How Race was not a factor within the war with a man called Pablo Fanque being a representative of this as he was a very successful circus owner, the process of Photomechanical Print process and the use of perspective within art and photography.

As well as this contextual knowledge, I have been able to develop my knowledge on other Artists/ Photographers whose work has interested me and inspired me to try and create art with a purpose. This started with my first task of the term, being a map that was created including different artists work that related to the main piece of art I picked originally. This task alone helped me to discover different types of work that Inspired me to create a similar type of work, with artists including Francesca Woodman, Roger Ballen and Jeremy Deller. Their use of photography has inspired me to develop photography of things that may be considered disturbing to some audiences as their photography includes elements of topics such as mental illness such as depression and schizophrenia or in Deller’s case, just how depressing England is as a country. As well as this, I have taken the time to read the book ‘ways of seeing’ By John Berger. A quote from this book that stood out to me and made me think was ‘Our perception or appreciation of an image depends also upon our own way of seeing’



Another example of inspiration was the trip to Margate that I participated in. The amount of street art that I encountered in Margate made me think about my use of colours within my work and also what I use as a canvas for my art so that I am not just creating digital art. The Tate made me think about how I was creating meaning for my art with descriptions not just the work to show that the art I can create has meaning and layers. This is something I need to work on but I hope to develop on this more as I continue through my journey at UCA.

I have been able to document my journey so far through UCA through my use of Blog posts, which I have been composing everyday which includes what I have done that day and how I wish to improve from the task I have done that day. Some examples in what I would like to develop on is Photoshop. My aim for my next evaluation is to learn at least the basic skills that you need for photoshop so that hopefully in the future I can create some developed photography for my final piece as I would like it to be mixed media of photography, film and possibly something that isn’t digital like a small sculpture.



Overall, I have found the whole course very interesting, with the Margate trip being the most interesting as I was able to get my own footage and edit it, using footage of art that I enjoy, street art. I have also enjoyed the workshops on filming and photography such as using the dark room and practicing our editing skills with footage from our ‘Journey to collage’ I Feel that not only have I been influenced and inspired by artists I have researched but also by the other students in my class who have taught me different tricks that they know as we are all advanced in different things. The use of peer assessment has helped me to develop my work further to make it more appealing to an audience.



To demonstrate my progress and results from this term at UCA I have created booklets for each topic we have developed, including, Margate, Th Circus, Local environment and Perspective. I have found the perspective booklet the hardest to do but the challenge of getting perspective photos has been interesting and pushed me to a limit as I had to really think about my layout as well as what I am taking photos of, instead of just taking photos of people. I am most proud of my Margate booklet as I feel I was able to play around the most with it within my colour palate and my layout. I have made great progress in my skills within publisher and photoshop, which was a goal I had. My skills within photoshop are now much wider and I am much more confident using the application. I am very proud of my work now that I can see it all put together in a portfolio manner.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page