top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Week 3 Evaluation




This week I had the opportunity to experiment with filming and editing film, which I was never excited about, seeing as film is what I would like to study.


First, I had the opportunity to experiment with different filming methods and techniques to get the best quality footage with smooth movements. I learned about different way to use a camera for filming and different equipment I can use, one being a hand held gimbal. I found the filming workshop to be the most useful for me that I have had during this project as I find that I rush my filming too much as I am more excited for the editing process, meaning that I do not take lighting, or composition much into consideration, but I had the time to think about these things in the workshop, making my work much more effective. I will take the skills I learned into my future work as I have found having good footage is a great foundation to any successful work.



After the filming workshop, I had the opportunity to edit my video, which I am also pleased about. I Was able to work out how to achieve an effect that I wanted to, meaning that I was successfully able to use problem solving skills to create the film that I wanted. I learned new editing techniques, as well as expanding my knowledge on techniques I already knew, such as masking, as I had to experiment with different methods to get the desired effects. This made me think a lot more about how different effects work for different things.


Overall, I am pleased with the work produced this week as I feel that I have successfully been able to broadcast techniques that I am capable of doing. I also had the opportunity to learn things that will be beneficial for my growth as a video editor.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page