top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

MUSEUM OF THE MOON

On Monday 2nd of March, I visited the moon sculture in rochester cathedral made by Luke Jerram.

I was amazed by the size of the moon that was present infront of me. I felt the atmosphere of the moon inside a cathedral was very powerful with a very spiritual connection being present in the cathedral in the moons presence. I felt the use of having the soundtrack that they had playing in the background very powerful as it helped to contribute to the atmosphere in the cathedral. As soon as I saw the sculpture, I was instantly filled with questions about the sculture itself, questioning how they put the moon together and how they travelled it over seas due to its side. I found that members of the public were very drawn to getting photography of people looking like they are holding the moon which I found interesting as well as the general population being mainly a mixture of 'old' people and very young people of about primary school age. All around me I could hear how amazed people were from the sculture, questioning the same things I did and other questions such as one little boy ho asked his teacher 'how did they get tthe moon from the sky'





Luke Jerram is the artist who created this moon piece. He is a british installation artist who mainly focuses on creating large installations.

His concept behind the touring show was that 'the moon has always inspired humanity acting as a cultural mirror to society' He belives that his sculture helps the public to observe and contemplate cultural similarities and differences around the world and also consider the latest moon sicence.


The meaning and interpretation shifts as the location of the sculture changes. It can be suggested that the meaning and link between the moon and the cathedral, representing religion, is the idea that the moon connects people all together no matter their different cultures and perspectives just like religion does.



The sculpture itself is seven metres in diameter and features 120dpi detailed NASA imagery of the lunar surface. Approximately, the sculpture is the scale of 1:500,00 and each centimetere of the sculpture represents 5km of the moons actual surface. The piece also included a surround sound composition which was composed by BAFTA and Dan Jones.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page