top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

4X4 MINDMAP VIDEO

For my research task, I was asked to create a 4x4 mind map of images that inspire me and answer questions about the piece of art. I felt that this method was not beneficial to the work I am trying to create, therefore, I felt that I should create my research in the form of a video. I did this so that I could easily identify parts of other videos that interest me and then try to replicate the part so that I could learn and understand how to create my own videos in the form that others that inspire me have. Doing this method has helped me to learn and present different layouts for my video editing in the future.


The Video itself includes shots form other artists that I found interesting and that I wanted to learn. This helped me to get ideas on different editing methods and also helped me to research how to do different types of text over video and also different filters.


In the short Video that I created, I focused on two artists who have inspired me recently, the first being Shotandstyled, an artist based in London who's work focuses on a simplistic layout, consisting of a mix of black and white frames. She likes to include more than one shot in frames, usually having videos playing next to each other, sometimes in different colours. I felt this method was effective and was something that I wanted to develop on. And the second being Jake Osmuni, Who's art focuses on a retro style, consisting of saturated videos and glitching effects.

I aim to in the future consider combining both of their styles together to create film footage. I focused on how Osmuni captured his video too, keeping an eye on position and layout.






NEW SKILLS LEARNED



How to have video show through text


To do this, I had to create a layer with the lettering on it and then have a layer underneath where the footage was. I then had to create a mask so that the footage underneath is presented on the lettering. As well as this, I had to make sure that there was a black background layer between the lettering and the footage to create a background around the letters.




Two Different images moving in the same shot


To do this, I had to create two different layers, in which I had two different videos. I then had to scale the images so that they would only show half of that film and then I had to position them next to each other. This is a very simple method and is very effective and is something I plan to use again in the future.


INSPIRED BY SHOTANDSTYLED



Glitch effect / retro text

For this, I had to play around with many different elements. I first had to change the situation of the video, therefore, I had to create three different layers with the same video and then change the RGB on each video to focus on one colour, I then had to slightly reposition each frame to give a glitch element, making the red and blue colour aside from the green. I then had to add a wave warp effect to make the image move, making the film look old and retro due to unstable footage. To do this, I had to make sure the wave direction and length was not tiny as this would make the picture ripple too much, as I just wanted a block ripple throughout. Therefore, I had to play around with different wave settings to get the right style. For the Text I had to edit two different versions of the text in the two different colours and then change the position of the red version to make the text look 3D. I experimented with also making the text glitch to make the text move alongside the video. I feel that this skill is something I can incorporate into my own work as it fits my style of editing well and I feel that I now can successfully create this style.


INSPIRED BY JAKE OSUMI



14 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page