top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Week Four - Editing Evaluation




Over the past week I have been working on editing the footage that I filmed, following up on my René Magritte inspired work. I decided to create a deep dream like world in comparison to reality. for this, I decided to edit a person walking into the frame, sitting down and putting on some headphones and then the background changing form as the person stayed normal.


I found this to be quite a success although I did face some challenges. First, I found the footage I filmed to be quite difficult to work with as I had not used a tripod causing the footage to not be stable. This made editing more difficult as I needed a still background to successfully do what I was aiming to do, never the less, I still managed to produce a video very close to what I wanted to produce, therefore I am proud of myself.


I am also pleased as I feel that I understand masking a lot better now after making this edit, which is a skill I will defiantly use and develop in the future. I also got to experiment with different types of 'trippy' editing which I have wanted to do for a while.


Next time to make my work more effective I will change a few things, the first (of course) being to make sure to use a tripod as stated before, as well as making sure to allow myself more time to edit next time as I feel that I rushed myself to finish this version, making the results not as good as they could have been. This can easily be resolved by managing my time better, which I will aim to do. I will also experiment with backgrounds that involve more nature as I feel like I could create much more interesting edits.


I hope to develop the skills I have picked up in the future and will work towards my work being even better next time.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page