top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Week Three - Filming Evaluation

Updated: Oct 25, 2020


Over the past week I have had the opportunity to shoot my film that I am going to edit. I decided to play on the idea of a surreal world. For my filming I had to think about different locations that I thought would work well for the background as I was going to be editing it to move around, therefore, I had to find somewhere that had lots of colours that could merge and create an interesting effect when ‘deep dream’ was added onto it. I decided to film my video outside as it had more interesting features to play around with, as well as linking to my original inspired painting, playing on the idea how in the paining the landscape was portrayed as ‘perfect’


I Feel that my filming could have been more successful if I had used a tripod, as I know that I will struggle to edit my video with a moving background. I will make sure to have the camera stable next time I film to make the editing much more effective. Other than that, I am pleased with how the filming went. My subject did what I wanted them to do, though I did not completely follow the storyboard I made.

Moving forward I am going to look at different editing methods I can use to get the product that I am hoping for. Once I know how to create the effect that I want, I will make sure to use the skills learned to create a final film for my work. I am excited to see the outcome and hope that it comes out as I have it visioned in my head.


Here is the raw video before editing:


My reasoning for having a person sitting in the middle of a background is that I want them to stay normal as the background moves all around them, to show the contrast of reality and surrealism. I made the person wear headphones to play on the idea of how music is like an escape from reality.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page