top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Projection Photography

Updated: Dec 3, 2020









Following up from our photography workshops, We had the opportunity to experiment with projection photography for the topic 'altered states'

For my photoshoots, I wanted to play around with the idea of illusions for some of the photos and then play on the idea of no identity using balaclavas. I find that I am inspired by psychedelic art for a lot of my work, therefore I wanted to use 'trippy' patterns in the background to reflect on the subject to hide their identity.


I played around with different patterns reflecting until I was able to get a satisfied result. I made my model sit on a white chair to make sure that the projection was clear.


Once I had taken the photos, I took them into photoshop and simply played around with the brightness and curves of the photos to make them clearer and more effective.



Overall, I like the photos that were taken, though I feel that I could have played with distorting the face and identity more in the photos. Methods of which I could do this could have been using quick shutter speed with my images to create confusion, inspired by artists such as Francesca Woodman.




1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page