top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Video/Video Editing

Updated: Feb 3, 2020












For the video add for Kalopsia, my mind was racing with different ideas that I could use to create the element of being able to create your own personalised hologram with Kalopsia, therefore, meaning that the planning and making of the Video ad took many different paths to get to the final video which was presented. As a template for the work I was going to create, I took photos of every person in the class with the same background and position so that editing would be easier.


Before staring to think about editing the video that I had created I started to think about the idea of morphing people together to create a person with different features made up. To do this I experimented with photoshop and masking. bellow is two of my classmates combined together to create a new person.


My initial idea was to cut each person into three parts, and then mix and match the parts together rot create new people which includes other peoples features. To do this, I scaled every photo to be the same by lining up the photos in a grid and then I made a mask for each part of the face for each person, there was the head, the eyes and the mouth.

This itself was extremely time consuming and found to be very difficult and did not look as good as I anticipated it to be. therefore, after experimenting with this method, I scrapped it and created a New idea instead.



From this Idea, I developed the Idea of instead turning the photographs into 3d versions of the people to show that you can create a person with any features you want, the different features being the different people. I felt that using a 3d version would be more affective as it would look more realistic and more technical for our idea of being a hologram.


From this, I developed 3d avatars of the heads of members of my class on a website called www.avatarsdk.com Here, I filmed the heads spinning round as I wanted to edit the video so that as one turned, as it was faced away it would turn to a different person to show the variety.










Once I had my footage, I started to play around with different filters I could use to create an affect tot make the people look like they were not realistic and holographic like manner, therefore I added a filter over the top to make the video look glitchy and technical. Although I had many obstacles with the video ad, I am extremely proud of the outcome as the final video is nothing like the initial idea yet the video works well and looks very affective.


I also feel much more confident with editing videos with different filters etc now as I did a lot of research whilst doing this video on how to do different transitions and effects and I cannot wait to use some of these in my next projects.







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page