top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Sandwich Board

For one of our propaganda tasks, we had to create a sandwich board for an issue that we wanted to protest.


I chose to create my sandwich board about politics from a biased view as I feel that protests within politics are important as there is a lot of strong opinions regarding the different parties at the moment due to the elections. I chose to do a strongly biased sandwich board as I wanted to show how people are brutal about their thoughts regarding politics and will do anything to make a person believe in the same thing as them, which can result in methods of trying to make people feel guilty or stupid for supporting something else, for example, social media posts from pro labour pages will make posts about being an evil person for supporting tories and pro conservative pages and news papers make biased statements that if you support labour you are stupid.


I used the method of spray paint and stencils for my media as I am interested to develop this media style more within the future as I feel street art influences me a lot and I am extremely interested in creating my own street art that is controversial as street art can be seen by such a wide audience.


My first process of making my sandwich board was making the stencils for me to spray paint. This consisted of letters to spell out my message and also the Labour rose as I wanted to create a biased labour sandwich board. At first I struggled to cut out the stencils as I was not used to having to make them, meaning there was slight confusion with what parts to cut and what parts to not cut.


Once I had made the stencils I spray painted my sandwich board.


I have learned from this experience many different techniques that I will use in the future next time I stray paint to make my results more effective than the ones that I got this time, for example, making the space around my stencil larger so that the remains for the paint does not go onto my work.


Overall, I am pleased with the results of my sandwich board as for my first time using spray paint, my board did not look too bad, and I am excited to use this media again in the future and take forward what I have learned.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page