top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Playing around with green screen

Updated: Jan 22, 2020

Following up from creating my sandwich board, I had to play around with different backgrounds that I could add to the image using a green screen.


For this process, I had to start off by taking photos holding my sandwich board in front of the green screen so that the background could later be edited through photoshop.

I also had to chose what photos I was going to use as a background. When chosing my background I had to think about how my background was going to relate to the sandwich board that I had made so that like the sandwich board, my background had the same meaning, therefore, I did not want to pick a background where people were protesting like other people in my class had. I wanted to make clear in my background that my board is pro labour as there was some confusion reguarding the meaning, therefore I wanted to play around with backgrounds that consisted of clear labour symbols, such as the labour rose. As well as this I had the idea to add photos mocking boris johnson, as then it would be clear that it was not a tory favoured sandwich board.


Once I had taken photos of my sandwich board in front of a green screen and decided on my backgrounds, I then had to take my image to photoshop. To start, I had to select around myself holding the sandwich board to create a mask. Origionally, this removes the section you have selected, which in this example, was myself, therefore, I then had to revert the mask so that instead of it removing that section, it removes the background.


I then had to place the background I wanted in a different layer behind the layer which had the mask and then this created an image of me holding my sandwich board infront of the image I had chosen. I played around with multiple images in my background and also different filters on the images to create a distorted and funny look to boris johnson, to give a sense of mocking him. Other examples that I included was the labour rose, as stated before, and also cartoons of Boris mocking him.


I found this workshop extremely useful as I now feel much more confident within photoshop reguaring using masks and removing backgrounds, as in the past I have struggled effectively using masks when I was experimenting with my last project, as well as struggling with removing backgrounds before as I was not doing it the most effective way.



Although, next time I try to change backgrounds on images, I will try harder to be more accurate, as I feel that my final edits were rougher than I would like them to be and this will be something I will work on for the future.







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page