top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

FMP - mood sheet on rave posters graphic design (Gabber/Acidhouse Inspiration)

Updated: May 12, 2021



From left to right -


Independence//June 1989//Limelight Shaftesbury Avenue London W1

Whirl-Y-Gig// Circa 1988 // monkey pilot and friends // Leicester Square, London WC2

The Core // November 1990// Well organised Promotions// London W1

RAGE // February 1989 // Fabio and Grooverider Present // Villiers Street, London WC2

Atmosphere // September 1989 // Laser Productions Present

Sunrise // December 1989 // Superseries '90 information line

Method Air // July 1989 // The Arch, Goding Street, London SE11

Evolution // March 1990 // Astoria, Charing Cross Road, London WC2

Soundclash // 1986 // Soul 11 Soul, Jazzie B and Normal J // Muswell Hill London N

Satisfaction // November 1989 / Rush Productions Present // Central London

RIP/Frequency // June 1988 // Paul Stone & Lu Vukovic // Clink Street, London SE1




to find these posters for inspiration, I went through the book 'RAVE ART' by 'Chelsea -Louise Berlin' foreword by 'Mark Moore'


This book includes flyers from the London rave scene between the years 1986-1990


I feel inspired mostly by the flyers I have selected from the book and placed onto my mood board for a number of reasons. First, I like the colour palates that are used, and the use of graphical art instead go photography. I tried to include a variety of different graphics but also chose ones that I felt fit into my style to most, fitting into this idea of quite saturated imagery which is quite surreal.


Out of the photos that I have selected from the book, I feel that these two images inspire me the most and ar Amy favourite. I like the use of surreal shapes and abstract art as well as the colour palates used. When I create my personal response creating my own 90s inspired rave posters, I will use these two images the most for inspiration.










Regarding Gabber flyers that I am inspired by, I have used this website https://gabbereleganza.tumblr.com to identify some of my favourites that are going to influence me to make my own.
















I feel that the Gabber posters that were used were much more simplistic than ones used in Acid house, and therefore gives me the opportunity to experiment more with typography, as I feel this is a key element in the promotional work for the gabber movement. Inspired by Gabber, I will experiment with creating typography rave flyers.
































































































3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page