top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

FMP - Initial thoughts

Updated: Apr 27, 2021



Photography taken by Olivier Degorce





Initially, for my final project I have decided that I want to create something to do with different urban subcultures, maybe possibly getting more of an insight into them? or possibly creating art identifying different parts of these subcultures, such as influences from different music and fashion.


Though, I am not too sure yet how I want to present this research, though I have ideas of possibly creating a series of photos and presenting them in a medium such as a graphical book, as I want to incorporate not only photography into my final project, but also graphic design.


Regarding different subcultures, I think it is important for me to identify a few subcultures that I want to focus on in particular and make art fitting into that style, focusing on promotional art for these cultures, for example the growth of the rave scene (acid house) and the use of promotional flyers that they used to promote the raves.


I think that I will focus mainly on the rave scene and the punk scene, though I might take the time to look into the skater scene too as I have friends who I feel fit into these scenes that I can talk to and get an insight as to why they feel that they identify with that scene and what appeals to them. I will consider making a questionnaire for people to fill out too to get more on an insight.


I am interested in film photography so I will make sure to take my photos using my film camera.


I feel the need to identify what it is that I am trying to learn though from this experience, which is what I will start to consider more as I know that this is important.




Here is a rough initial plan that I had made identifying first steps on what I need to do for research before I start to create any art work for my final project.













Here I have identified different artists that I feel that I am inspired by, these are photographers and inspiration from them varies from what they are photographing to actual photographing techniques that they use that I find inspiring.








5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page