top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

FMP - Bleaching photos experimentation

Updated: May 19, 2021







For my final project, I want to produce a series of images, but I was thinking what could I do to make these images more interesting? therefore I have been considering bleaching the images to create a different atmosphere that you wouldn't normally get from normal imagery. I am interested in old looking photography and I feel that by bleaching photos I can get this desired effect as it washes out colours and also can make them run etc.


At first, I was not sure how I was going to complete this and was not even sure it was a thing you could do. I simply just put bleach into a bowl and placed an image and decided to see what would happen.


At first, nothing happened so I decided to pour more bleach into the bowl, pouring some of the bleach directly onto the photo itself. From doing this, I discovered that if you pour bleach straight onto an image, that area on the photo will go white. My first image was a fail but was a learning experience as I was able to identify what I needed to do next time to get a successful result.


Here are results of the bleached photos that I did;








From this experience, I have learned that it is better to use clear nail varnish as a solvent to mask areas out rather than PVA glue, as the glue peeled off, I also learned to be patient with the bleach, as nothing happens for a while and then all of a sudden it will bleach the photos really quickly. I wish to use this method again as I like the results it creates, it reminds me of photos Being taken in fire. I will use this method again for future photos.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page