top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Animation for final poster

For the animation in my final poster I wanted to animate the middle finger so that it raised up and then back down. I chose this to animate as I felt this would be simplistic but effective and also would draw attention to the middle finger element of the poster, which is an important part of the poster as it represents Boris not caring which is important to highlight as a pro labour biased propaganda.


Even though I had experimented with after effects prior to doing this task in a earlier session, I felt that using after effects was not the right software for what I wanted to achieve therefore I started to look at other apps I could use instead. From research I decided on using Adobe Animate.


I asked for help from one of my peers who was more familiar and used to Animate to help me with the basics of the app so that I could start to create my moving poster.


They showed me how to do different techniques within Animate such as making key frames, cutting images etc so that my final attempt would be fully effective.



My first task when creating this animation was to cut down to which part of the image I wanted to animate, therefore, I exported a photo of the logo I had created and highlighted the hand as the part I wanted to animate. I then started to think about how the hand itself moves when lifting up the middle finger to get an idea and guideline for the animation piece.


I started to make key frames in which I cropped the finger down so that it looked like a closed hand all the way to the finger fully extended. To do this, I used tools such as the crop tool and a keyframe tool which would show me what the next part of the sequence would look like, as well as having to re draw back in the finger myself.



I chose to keep the movement of the action simplistic due to the poster itself being cartoon and simplistic like.




Overall, I am extremely pleased with my progress within animation as before this experience I had no skills within animation but now I know the basics. I am pleased with my progress even though it is not that extreme as in my last evaluation for my last project I stated that I wanted to develop skills within animation, which I am now starting to do.


If I was to change anything about my animation it would be more movement from the other fingers surrounding the middle finger that moves so that it may look more realistic or maybe even experiment with the movement of the eyes so that they are blinking.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page