top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Creating Propaganda Posters

Once I had made my logo for my propaganda project, I had to start considering how I was going to make backgrounds to put behind it to present in a poster. I wanted to make sure that my layout was mimimal, focusing mostly on the Logo that I had created. I also wanted to make sure that the background themselves told a story that would not need any words just like the logo.



To start off this task, I had to think about the kind of layout and colour scheme that I wanted for my poster for it to be effective and eye catching. I considered colours such as red which relates to Mcdonald's as well as being a vibrant colour. As well as this, I thought of other idea designs that I could create that would help to present 'Brexit' so that on the poster it would present Boris sticking his middle finger up to 'Brexit' as this is a hot topic at the moment within the country meaning that this poster could have a stronger reaction as well as a reason clearly stated behind it as to why Boris was photoshopped with a clown.


I started off with the brexit symbolised poster. I wanted my design to be simple with block colours and block shapes, therefore I considered different designs envolving the EU flag and also some designs including the United Kingdom flag. I wanted my colours to be block colours with no shading as I feel this is more eye catching compared to shading on posters as block colours stand out more. After playing around with my image I decided on including both the EU flag and the United kingdom flag, and some flames over the top to show how the bond between the two has been broken. It can be suggested by the poster that Boris possibly had a part to play in this or does not care about this due to the Logo created which was placed over the top which consisted of Boris photoshopped into Ronald Mc Donald with his middle finger up.




To do this background I simply made the shapes of the flags out of shape tools on photoshop and then filled them in with the paint bucket. For the flames however, I got an image of some flames that I felt would fit and then drew over them and added my own flames in to create a much more cartoon-y feel to the poster.



Overall, I am impressed with this poster design as I feel that it is effective in telling a message without any words as well as sparking a reaction based on what you may feel about the issue due to the poster being very clearly biased, therefore successfully being propaganda.





For my second poster I wanted to play on the Idea that I mentioned earlier about being simplistic and mimimal mainly focusing on the logo. For this I played around with different small logos or photography that I could include in the background of the poster that would not take the attention away from the Logo. I wanted to focus on the theme of 'Mcodnalds' therefore I started to play around with the actual mcdonald's logo itself.


For this, I wanted to make a spin off of the slogan 'Im lovin it' to something that would relate to what I was trying to make my poster about, therefore it had to be something to do with critisising Boris. From this Idea I decided on the slogan 'Im hatin it' which would replace the origional slogan in the mcdonalds Logo. Reguarding background, I wanted to make sure the background was the same red colour as the mcdoanlds clothing that Boris is wearing in the Logo so that the whole poster had the same colour scheme.





This design was very simple to do but is very effective. I had to get an image of the mcdonalds logo. I then cut out the origional slogan and replaced it with my own slogan using the same font. I made sure to position the Mcdonld's logo in the corner of the poster so that it is not the main focus of the poster but is still recognisable. I made sure to make the red in the background the same shade as the classic Mcdonald's red so that the new sloganed logo looked natural against the background, making the changes more subtle.






Overall, I am proud of this poster as I feel it would be very effective on stickers and in places such as Bus stops due to its mimimal style and simple block shapes and colours. If I had to change anything I would possibly outline the mcdonald's Logo so this it stood out more in the corner.




Moving forward with the project I feel that out of the two initial posters I will progress with the first poster which consists of the flags and flames due to this poster having the most effect with what message it is trying to portray. I will animate this poster for my final piece. From creating both of the posters I have picked up many more skills within photoshop that I can use for the future when experimenting with graphic design which I am extremely pleased about as I felt that my graphic design skills needed improving.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page