top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Creating Advertising - Magazine

Updated: Nov 2, 2020

For my second type of advertisement following up from my film, I made a mock up magazine page. In my page I wanted it to be colourful, Just like the Instagram AD. I also wanted to create a distorted feel too, with saturated colours popping out.


Before starting to make my magazine page, I started to look online for inspiration. I was drawn to this one due to its layout. I decided that I wanted to use the same layout for my own version.




To start making my magazine, I started to think about layout and colour schemes. I thought about how other magazines are played out and what I could personally do to make it eye captivating. I decided to place one of my surreal edits as the top half of the page, and saturated the colours to make them stand out more, bringing much more attention to the page.

I then thought about how I can contrast against these colours for the bottom of the page ,so that there isn't too much going on. I thought about plain colours that would match. I decided on grey.



In the original magazine layout that I took inspiration from, there is a photo placed in the middle with a black shadow background, I liked this idea, though, I was not keen on it being a black box around with the grey background that I had used, therefore, I changed it to white to make it stand out more. I then thought about what photo I could place on the magazine page. I wanted it to be one of the surreal edits I had made, but something that wasn't too colourful so it wouldn't clash with the background. I decided on the edit I did of my class mate 'Teo'

I decided to pick the version without the Pokemon characters added in. To contrast even more against the background, I changed the settings on the photo, making the fade a lot stronger on the photo and decreasing the saturation.



After placing in the photo that I wanted to pick, I started to think about adding wording to the magazine which will catch a customers eye. Slogans are important when trying to get an audience to be drawn to your work. I thought about small phrased sentences that I could use to summarise what I was trying to portray but in a captivating way. After thinking about this for a while, I decided on 'what is reality' as I feel like a question as a slogan is very captivating and will make a reader want to know more about what the page is representing. Just like the AD that I made, I wanted to make sure that there was more than one bit of text saying this replicating each other to show that there is a constant theme between my work and also because I feel this method of text best represents the type of style I am trying to show for my advertising. I also decided on making my text yellow to bring attention to it, as it contrasts the grey. Yellow is a very bright colour, making it be one of the first things you see when looking at the page.



Finally, the last element that needed to be added to the magazine, was the text. I wanted to add a synopsis of the film that I had created and a small explanation from the director. I did not want to include too much information on this page, as I wanted the film itself to be mysterious to viewers, therefore I tried to keep it broad. I made sure to include my reasoning for making the movie in the description, and also to give it a proper magazine feel, I made sure to write the synopsis as if I was a reporter, not the director.


Overall, I am proud of the magazine page I had made, mostly being proud of the colours that I used as I feel like they go well together. Next time I will consider using my own layout to make it more authentic and also consider adding more information into the synopsis. I have learned different layout techniques today though as I had the opportunity to play around with different placement.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page