top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Creating Advertising - Instagram Ad


Following from the photography and film work that we had done over the past few weeks, we needed to create promotional material to go along with them. For my first piece of promotion, I decided to focus on an instagram ad.


Before I started to make my AD I had a think about what I wanted it to include and how the style of it could relate to the concept I was going for. Throughout my work I have been focusing on a surreal world, therefore I wanted the AD to be 'trippy' and unclear.

For inspiration I had a look at some artists who had created glitch like promotional pieces over instagram. One in particular that caught my attention was the promotional work for the band 'Brockhampton'







I liked their use of multiple text, with only one coloured in to bring attention to it. I also liked how they used collaging methods with the photos presented on the front. Their use of bright colours was also a factor that I wanted to include in my own work.








After getting an Idea of the type of style that I wanted my AD to look like, I took myself to 'CANVA' (https://www.canva.com) to start to layout my AD. I didn't want to include much in the AD as I feel that a clean layout is much more effective an a lot going on with a lot of writing, therefore, I decided to only include the slogan of the film and when it was going to be released. I feel this can create hype as the person will want to know more about what the AD is advertising, causing them to look into it more, or in a realistic instance, click on the AD to the page. I first thought about background, and colour scheme. I wanted to contrast the colours with the writing standing out more than the background, therefore, I decided on using a black background and use a brightly coloured writing. I opted for Pink. I then got a plastic texture overlay that I have saved on my computer and placed it over the black background. I feel this makes the background look less bland.


After completing the background, I then move onto adding the text in. I had already picked my colour palate of black and pink, So I decided to make my main piece of text pink. Then, to add contrast, I decided to make the duplicate writing white, with no filling to create a glitch like outline writing. I copy and pasted this piece of text four times and layer them slightly over each other to create the effect shown on the left. I used the 'Horizon' text type.





After adding the main text onto the AD, I thought about what other text that I wanted to include. Like stated earlier, I did not want to put too much writing on the AD as I wanted it to be clean and mysterious. I added when the film was going to be released, making sure to make the writing pink again to fit in with the theme. I then also added a line because I wanted to separate the text and the photography that I was going to add. Making the line pink is a nice touch to the AD, making the pink stand out.



My next step was to add the photography that I wanted into the AD. For this, I looked through at the edits that I had made and decided on the one below to use.



I decided that I did not want the person present in the photo, just the background to focus more on the landscape in the photo so I cropped the photo down, cutting out the person. Once I had added the photo in, I noticed that the colours did not completely match with the layout of the AD as the AD was much brighter than the photo. To solve this, I changed the saturation and brightness of the photo until I was satisfied. I focused on making the pinks match the pinks present in the AD already.







I felt that a border would look better round the photo to bring more attention to it, so I added a white box underneath the photo. I went for white as it contrasts against the black background.









I was still not satisfied with the result of the AD created as I felt like the image needed something else added to it. I thought about what else I could add to distort the photo more playing on this idea of surrealism. I decided to copy the photo I had placed and then add it over the original photo, moving it to the side slightly to create a distorted look. I found this to look better, but I was still not satisfied. I had a look at the effects that you can add onto photos on the canva website and found a glitch like effect. I decided to add this over the top of the top photo. After adding this, I was satisfied with the AD created.




Overall, I am pleased with the result of my instagram AD as I feel I successfully created a distorted ad, following up with the ideas I have been following this whole project making the ad relevant and linking. Next time, I will look at different colour palates as black can be quite a boring colour. I will also look at possibly making the background the image instead of a plain background as I feel that could have also been very effective. I will also look at using different methods to making promotional work with different softwares school as photoshop, to give a much more unique feel as I will have to make everything completely from scratch.

3 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page