top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Brockhampton Album cover technique research

Updated: Jan 4, 2021


One artist that I am extremely inspired by as I progress though my project creating a song cover, is the Band's 'Brockhampton' promotional designer 'Henock Sileshi'


Sileshi does all the art work for Brockhampton, Varying from their album art work to their music videos. I have created an artist research page of Sileshi before, but I focused more on his film editing techniques, where as here, I am much more interested in his promotional pieces for album covers and posters etc.


I am inspired by his use of saturation within his work, which he uses to manipulate the photos, which you can see on the left hand side of this post. His uses of colour create the images to be distorted, hiding identify to the people.



I was interested on how to create this look myself, as I was perplexed. After experimenting with photoshop, I realised that the technique I was using to re create these images was wrong, as I was using the curves tool to create saturation rather than gradient maps.


After Identifying that I wanted to create work like Sileshi's, I took to the internet to try and find tutorials to show me how to do work similar to the ones created by Sileshi.


Here are some videos that I watched -




After watching these videos, I was aware that I needed to experiment with gradient maps to re create art like Sileshi's.


After realising this, I started to understand how he created his pieces, and started to see the different gradient maps throughout his pieces. For each promotion that Brockhampton has, Sileshi changes up the style of the gradient maps, yet still keeps the theme of saturation, which I find to be interesting as he is adapting each promotion to his style whilst still managing to make them different.





As you can see from this image, It shows elements of saturation and you can see that A gradient map has been used, but he has presented different colours in his gradient map compared to the ones presented before.




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page