top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Animated Mood Board



To present my original inspiration for the Altered states project, I decided to make a moving moodpboard, incorporating all elements that I feel represent altered states to me. This includes artists that I have looked at so far, and different colours/ patterns that I would like to use throughout the project. I also decided to make it move to best represent a feel of distortion which I would also like to use thought my project.









some of the elements that I included in my moodboard are Andy Warhol's Polaroids. I Purposely chose this one as I like how for one the photo is raw, and for two the subject is playing around with his appearance.



I also included the works of 'Daisies' by Vera Chytilová.




Due to self isolating, I was not able to create my mood board on paper, therefore, to create the same effect digitally, I decided to use a 'ripped paper' brush which I downloaded off the internet. I used this throughout the mood board, by painting the effect and then adding the photo on top, creating a clipping mask so that the image only appears on the rips. I also added text from relevant artists that I was researching, One presented was about Francesca Woodman, talking about her life.








Here is the moodpboard before adding animation:







Once I had make the mood board, I then took it into Premier pro to play around with the movement of it.

For the movement, I wanted to create a warp type of movement, and a change of colour. This is very simple to do on premier pro.




Simply, I added the colour balance (HLS) over the photo. I then created a path by clicking the little clock button next to 'hue' At the start of the video I had amount at 0 and then as the path progressed, I tightened and lowered the hue, to give a warping type of feel.


Then, I added the 'turbulent displace' effect over the photo. Just like the Hue, I created a path on the 'amount' icon, increasing the warp as the path progressed, to give a warping look to the video.




Overall, I am pleased with the result of my mood board though I would have preferred to done it on paper. I learned some new photoshopping skills such as how to create a ripping effect which will be useful to me. I am also pleased with how the moodpboard moves, I feel it looks very cool.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page