top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States2 - Final Evaluation




Initially, when I was presented with the Altered States project I had many ideas, mainly focusing on the link between heat and emotions, which can be shown through thermal imagery. I also was inspired by an idea of distortion, especially to do with the face to lose a sense of identity. I wanted to link the two together, presenting somebody who was isolated.


I began to experiment with different types of liquified editing, to understand the movement of the feature and how I could use it to its full potential. I started with liquified text, then progressively moved onto backgrounds and then finally objects. I then took the time to research thermal editing and experiment with creating it post production due to not owning a thermal camera. I made mood sheets of elements that I was inspired by for my own work, such as colour schemes and layout ideas. I looked at different artists that I was inspired by and made artist responses to experiment with different techniques to find the best one to use for my final piece. I have documented all of my work and thoughts on my website. I have found doing artist responses to each artist that I like to be really useful as I can easily identify the skills I like to use for my own work.


I am pleased with the outcome of my final piece ‘Boys don’t cry’, which presented an isolated person, with a distorted face. I present his emotions through thermal imagery. Though, I know there are improvements that I can do. I am inspired by the piece I made to develop my isolation fisheye photography further as I really like the way they turned out, even without all the effects I added. I feel that some black and white fisheye photography could be really interesting if I positioned the subject in an interesting manner. Next time, I will think more about location too, I feel the images could be more atmospheric if they were taken outside.


This project has helped me grow as an artist as I have been considering meaning behind my work more, making me produce more substantial pieces. This has been something that I have identified in the past that I needed to work on so I am pleased that I have started to do this. I also feel that this project has helped me to expand my knowledge on artists who inspire me, such as ‘vera chilyova’ and also has helped me to broaden my editing skills.


Overall, This project has helped me to expand my knowledge regarding technical and theory knowledge on different types of graphical art. I have been able to try out different techniques and learn about new artists who I am inspired by, as well as have the opportunity to think differently. I have learned a lot of new knowledge and methods that I will use in the future.




4 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page