top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Thermal Editing Experimentation





Recently, I have been inspired by thermal editing, as I like the way it distorts an image. I am especially interested when the image includes a face which has thermal editing over it, as it changes the form of the face in a really interesting way. I found the artists 'brockhampton' to be a really good example of what I wanted to create myself. For their album covers and promotional art, they experiment with different thermal images, using different parts of the body and different people.








I like the use of colours shown. You can clearly see the resemblance to rainbow colours and saturation, which is the name of the album. I wanted my work to be similar, but not the same, as I wanted to make my edits unique to me therefore, I decided to not follow the same rainbow type of style but still follow through the the saturated colours.









To create these edits, I simply took the photo that I wanted to edit into photoshop and then experimented with the 'curve tool' to achieve the lighting I wanted to get a saturated type of edit.



I did this a few times on the image until I got the desired effect. I then played around with the curves feature again to make the images lighter or darker, to make the image look complete. then, to finish the image off, I added grain over the top.



Overall, I am pleased with the outcome of the images created, though I would like to experiment more with changing the colours of the saturation, like the inspired pieces have done as I feel this effect looks very cool. Moving forward I would like to experiment with adding this kind of filter onto film, to create thermal film.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page