top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Self Portrait Photography Planning


For my Altered states Photography workshop, I have decided that I want to do my self portrait through the media of Polaroids. I am inspired by Andy Warhol's collection of Polaroids which he captured between 1958-1987. He captured Polaroids of many famous people such as Mick Jagger. As well as capturing people, he also captured still life forms such as cans and cabbage patch kids. I like the rawness of the photos taken.


I also aspire to take multiple self portrait images which will tell a story through a sequence when put together, with them moving slightly in each picture.


For my photos, I would like the reflect my battles of living in a world filled with unrealistic beauty standards, and how it can effect a person. therefore, to represent this, I would like to create a distorted face, with makeup smudged all over the face, to create what some may call 'ugly'. Other methods that I am considering trying to also give this message is possibly have the face pressed up against a surface, such as a mirror or a piece of glass.


Thinking about background, I would also like to look at projection photography to create a much more distorted look.



I like psychedelic backgrounds and feel that colour would be a nice touch to the photo, contrasting between the 'ugly' as bright colours are linked to being 'cheerful' and 'beautiful'

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page