top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Mishko Response

Updated: Dec 30, 2020



Developing from my research from Mishko, I decided to experiment myself with liquified text as I think this may be something that I would like to include in my final piece for altered states. I was considering either using it in the cover art for the song I want to create, or possibly at the start of the video. Other options that I could use for this could be to show the lyrics for the song.


I wanted to create a feel of letting lose with the image, from the words flowing over the screen. I thought about different phrases I could use to link to this, I decided on 'why limit yourself to reality' as I feel that the words are not limited in the image as they have the freedom to move all over the page.








To create this image, First I had to create the text itself. To do so, I went into photoshop and wrote out the text that I wanted. I then duplicated the text and placed this below the original text and stretched the text out to the bottom of the screen. I did this twice with two different colours so that I could blend them together.




Once I had done this, I went to the 'liquify' tool and played around with different movement of the text. I wanted the movement to be random and flow smoothly, therefore I didn't go into the liquify tool with the intention to use it in a certain way, but more so with the intention to see what will happen.


Once I had completed this, I decided that the top of the image also needed liquifying to make the text look even, therefore, I took the last two letters of 'yourself' and stretched them in the same manner that I did with the text at the bottom. I then took this into the liquify tool and followed the same process. Here was my end result.



Now that I had created my text, I needed to think about background. I wanted to use an abstract background with lots of colour. Earlier in the day I had gone out to get some footage for some video experimentation. I liked the result of the video footage I had got and felt that it would go well with my text. I screens hotted part of the film footage to use for my background.













I was happy with the effect created, but I wasn't too happy with the colours chosen. To overcome this, I used the 'hue and saturation' tool and went through the wheel to see what different colours would look like. I finally settled with a yellow and pink mixture.



Finally, to complete the image, I added a grain overlay which I feel tied the image together.


Overall, I am impressed with my progress regarding liquified text. I can see myself improving and I am excited to see what I can create next. Moving forward I would like to experiment with liquified objects as well as text to create different distorted images.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page