top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Ink Blotting Example

Updated: Nov 17, 2020



Following up from the research that I did on ink blotting, I decided to try and do some of my own. I wanted to create something from my ink blots, inspired by artists such as 'Magaret Peot' and 'Justinus Kerner'



Unfortunately, for my experiment, I had limited resources due to being in lockdown, therefore, I used food colouring dye instead of ink. I only had the colours green and red so I started t experiment with the mixing of these two food colourings.





I wanted my blots to be mainly in the middle of the page and be a biggish surface area so I could create a character from it. To achieve this, I put blots of food dye in the middle of a piece of paper and then folded the paper in half. From doing this I was able t o create the blots shown of the left.



Out of the two presented on the left, I decided to develop the top blot, as I felt I could see more in it that I Could work on. Looking at it, I could picture a creature of some sort sitting cross legged. I felt that you could also clearly see the start of a face forming at the top.


I left my blots to dry for an hour or so, and went to check on them. I found them to still not be dry so I got a hair dryer and dried the blots enough so that I could draw on them.


I then got a black sharpie and started to outline the blot, giving the character structure. I then proceeded to fill in other outlines, such as the arms and legs. Unfortunately, I was impatient and did not let my blots dry for long enough, therefore the drawings were not as effective as they could have been.


Overall, I like the outcome and I feel that I understand the usage of ink blots a lot more and how they can be beneficial to create characters etc. I find it really interesting that you can use pure random arrangement of ink to create some sort of form. I would like to use this again to create different characters. Next time, I will think more about the structure that will be created when I am applying the ink/dye to the paper, to create a much more desired effect.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page