top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Graphic Design Experimentation





As part of my altered states project, I decided to experiment with the use of text for purposes such as album art covers. I wanted to experiment with the 'liquify' tool in photoshop to see what I could create.



Before starting with the liquify tool, I wrote 'Timelines', which is the name of my friends song who I was doing the cover for, in photoshop. I copied and pasted this twice to create two copies. I placed the second copy underneath the first one and then stretched the text out until it was all across the screen.



Once I had done this, I took the image into the liquify tool and started to experiment with different movement of the text, stretching parts and swirling others. I decided to use a random process when creating this as I wanted the outcome to be completely original and spontaneous.


Once I had created the text, I started to think about colouring and effects that I could put over the text to make the image look saturated and old. I made sure to make the background black so that the text stood out. I then added a plastic texture over the background and grain over the top to create a more textured photo. I also added a colour exposure overlay on the background too.




Finally, I exported the image and added them into a Kodak 400 template.

To do this, I masked out the white parts of the image and added the timelines image in replacing it. I then mirrored the image so that they would connect in the middle, making the photo look more appealing. I had ideas to place a different image in the second box, but I found that this didn't look as good.

Here are some inspirations for what I was trying to create on instagram,




I like how the text merges into different colours in these examples, as well as the colours used. I was inspired mostly by the right hand image, as I was interested in how the text goes down the screen. To achieve my own work, I had a look at the image and tried to figure out how this image was created, and then thought about how I could change it to make it more unique to myself.



Another artist who I am inspired by for my text work is Mishko. He experiments with different liquify texts.





I like how he uses images as well as text for his work, which is something I would like to try. I like how he links the colours of the text and background together too.









Overall, I like the outcome of the song cover that I made. I like how the liquify tool came out and this is something I will defiantly use again. Next time, I would like to experiment with the background more with my text, linking the two. I would also like to experiment with colour more, being able to create a rainbow effect within my text.

2 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page