top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Final Piece






For my final piece, I wanted to carry on experimenting with the same skills that I have been demonstrating throughout this project, to show how I have improved my skills.

Though, this time, I wanted to use my skills to create a piece that has more meaning. I have been looking at how emotions change your body heat, which can be shown through a thermal camera. Because of this, I decided to do a piece on mens mental health, as it is apparent that men struggle to talk about their emotions a lot more than woman do.




To create my piece, I followed this chart of different emotions to create gradient maps for my images.


I used the same techniques such as the liquify tool and gradient maps to create this piece, which I have shown how to do in previous blog posts.





I experimented with different images that I created too. I do not like them as much as my final images, but they helped me to experiment to create the perfect image.



I feel that the colours as too bright in this image, and the person looks photoshopped in, even though they are not due to the blending not being great between the person and the background. This helped me to remember to change these features when I created my final piece.



Overall, I am pleased with the outcome as not only have I created a visually interesting piece, but this piece also has meaning behind it, which is something I have personally been working on within my work, as I can forget to do this. I feel that I have developed as an artist. Next time, I will experiment more with blending text into images, as I feel like doing this in this image would have been really interesting and made the image look a lot better. I will work on photoshop to make my blending skills better.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page