top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Different filming Techniques workshop

Updated: Dec 1, 2020


This Week, we are having the opportunity to experiment with film. Today, we were focusing on filming itself before editing. We had the opportunity to use phone hand held gimbals.


Before we got into actually filming, we watched a film on different filming techniques, highlighting different effective techniques for getting the best shots. This included different camera movement and different angling of the cameras. I found this film useful to me as I want to be a film creator and even though I am much more interested in the editing of film rather than the actual filming, it was useful to know these methods so that I have better footage to edit in post production.


I knew already from making my storyboard last week that I wanted to experiment with changing the sky's colours from a window of some sort.


After thinking about what I could film to show the sky, I started thinking about what would show the sky through something that isn't the sky so that I could show the contrast when edited. I decided that a car window could work very effectively therefore I got into a car and started to film out of the window. I filmed myself switching between the windows so that I would have a solid shape to mask from if I wanted to change scenes in post production and also so that you could clearly see the difference in form and colours fo the sky compared to the car, to create a surreal reality.





Overall, I like the video taken as I can vision what I am going to do With it when I get to editing, which makes me excited. Though, I feel that my filming could have been a lot more steady. I did not use a Hand gimbal for this film, which I should have. using a gimbal would have made the movements much more smooth.

I also feel that next time I attempt to do this, I should film on a day when overcast, as the sky will all be one colour which will make editing easier for me in post production, as with the sky being a sunset I am going to have to key out many different colours which is going to take me a lot longer.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page