top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Additional Portrait



Due to being in self isolation, I felt that I was not able to fully experiment with the self portrait task, due to lack of resources. Because of this, I decided to use some photos I had taken in the past and experiment with them instead. Luckily for me, my favoured art style that I tend to use e is very similar to the task I had to complete so I had a lot of photos that I could use instead.


I wanted to experiment with lighting, and projection playing around with different shadows within the portraits. For the photos I had chosen, I had done a simple photoshoot with a projection of a blank red screen to give the desired red overlay. I then placed my model on a stool in front of the projection and had them pose, facing slightly away from the camera in each shot to not fully show their identity. I chose to do this layout as I wanted to experiment with deforming the face, or covering it in some way to link identity and looks.


Here are the raw photos :






I decided to cover the eyes with a rip effect, as I had recently learned this in my mood board studies, and wanted to experiment further with what I had learned. Prior to making this edit, I had downloaded a rip effect pen onto my photoshop off the internet. I got my pen tool, created a new layer on top of the photos and placed a rip over the screen.


I then changed the opacity of the photo on the left to create an overlay type of look. I wanted to make sure to bring attention to the shadow, as that is the only part in the whole photo where you can see the persons full face structure. therefore, I made sure that the photo on the left had a higher opacity to the photo on the right.


I then got the colour selector tool to select the colour of the background to make sure that the rip was the same shade of red. I then painted this colour into the rip.


After I had completed the structure of the photo I started to play around with the overall lighting of the photo to blend the two images and the rip together. I used the curve tool to experiment with different shadows throughout the photo and blend the lighting all together.



Overall, I am much more pleased with this photo compared to the last self portrait that I made, As I feel that my last example was much too basic and did not broadcast my skills enough. I am pleased with how the photo looks altered and the structure of the face is presented in different places. I would like to work with projection photography more to create illusional effects on the body and its surroundings. Once I am able to use the facilities I would like to experiment with projection a lot more.

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page