top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaks

Altered States - Additional Graphic Design


Following from 'altered states' and creating a surreal world, I was inspired to create a piece in photoshop. I wanted to create a landscape with elements that would not be realistic. I was inspired from pieces on Pinterest that I had seen, where people were creating a surreal world out of things that you wouldn't think would go together and I thought it would be fun to try myself.





Before I started to make my image, I started to think about what to add into it. I thought about different elements that inspire me from other examples. I like aliens and space therefore I decided t add something to do with that in, as well as a face of some sort to create real confusion. I decided to settle on Einstein.



Once I had my images, I went into photoshop with an unedited landscape that I could use. I decided to use this;

Unfortunately, I lost the photoshop file that I used to create this So I cannot present screenshots of me creating it, but I can talk through how I did.

I then began to remove the background to replace it with something trippy. I then used the 'curves' tool on both the road and the sky to try to blend the two together to create one scene. Once I did that, I began to do the exact same method but with different elements. I would crop the image to fit into the scene and use blending options to make them look realistic with the rest of the image. I made sure to take lighting and shadows into consideration when creating this to give a much more realistic feel to the edit. Examples are of the moon against other objects, as the moon is very bright and in reality would create a reflection.


Overall, I like the image I have created and I would like to experiment with digital collage much more. I will make sure to document my progress next time as I know this is important.




0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page